Luciano Benavides Wins Stage 11, Howes Retakes General Lead

As winner of Stage 10 of the 2023 Dakar Rally, Ross Department was the primary rider to sort out the 274 kilometers of Stage 11. Time bonuses on this stage had been awarded to the highest three riders over the primary 142 kilometers, as much as the stage’s refueling level. The primary rider might get as a lot as a 1.5-second per kilometer bonus, the second rider might acquire a single second per kilometer, and the third rider might rack up a half-second per kilometer.  

Sadly for Department, he shortly slipped down the order by the 20-kilometer checkpoint. Skyler Howes took the lead, adopted by Luciano Benavides, Sebastien Bühler, Nacho Cornejo, and Franco Caimi.  

By the 89-kilometer checkpoint, Skyler Howes nonetheless had the very best time, with Luciano Benavides in second, Pablo Quintanilla in third, and Daniel Sanders in fourth. By this level, Howes wasn’t simply successful the stage—his time additionally put him again in entrance within the total 2023 Dakar Rally bike class standings, as effectively. 

The refueling level occurred after the 142-kilometer checkpoint, and Luciano Benavides was again in entrance timewise by that time. He was trailed by Skyler Howes, Pablo Quintanilla, Kevin Benavides, and Daniel Sanders, all clocking occasions inside a two-minute span. In the present day was one other powerful day for Mason Klein, who was down by a minimum of quarter-hour off the tempo at this level. 

47 kilometers later, on the 189-kilometer checkpoint, the highest 5 remained just about the identical. Luciano Benavides had the quickest time, with Skyler Howes in second, Daniel Sanders in third, Pablo Quintanilla in fourth, and Kevin Benavides in fifth. Whereas the frontrunner pack stayed roughly the identical all through the stage, Toby Worth managed to sneak up and take third place by the tip of it. 

Listed here are the highest 10 riders and occasions from Stage 11 of the 2023 Dakar Rally: 

Rider Staff Time
Luciano Benavides (ARG)  Husqvarna Manufacturing unit Racing 2 hours, 57 minutes, 59 seconds 
Daniel Sanders (AUS)  Pink Bull GASGAS Manufacturing unit Racing  2 hours, 59 minutes, 37 seconds 
Toby Worth (AUS) Pink Bull KTM Manufacturing unit Racing  2 hours, 59 minutes, 55 seconds
Skyler Howes (USA) Husqvarna Manufacturing unit Racing 3 hours, 0 minutes, 8 seconds
Pablo Quintanilla (CHL) Monster Vitality Honda Staff 3 hours, 0 minutes, 53 seconds 
Sebastien Bühler (DEU) Hero MotoSports Staff Rally  3 hours, 3 minutes, 5 seconds 
Romain Dumontier (FRA) Staff Dumontier Racing 3 hours, 3 minutes, 33 seconds
Lorenzo Santolino (ESP)  Sherco Manufacturing unit 3 hours, 3 minutes, 42 seconds
Franco Caimi (ARG) Hero MotoSports Staff Rally  3 hours, 3 minutes, 57 seconds 
Kevin Benavides (ARG)  Pink Bull KTM Manufacturing unit Racing  3 hours, 4 minutes, 21 seconds

After Stage 11, Skyler Howes regained the general lead within the standings, adopted by Toby Worth in second and Kevin Benavides in third, with a niche of two minutes and 44 seconds to Howes’ complete time up to now. Simply three phases stay within the 2023 Dakar Rally, and we will’t wait to see what occurs subsequent. 

Supply By